Cover image for Woodstock : 3 days of peace & music
Woodstock : 3 days of peace & music
For three days in the summer of 1969, a rock concert was held on an upstate New York farm, and 400,000 people attended -- far more than were anticipated, far more than paid, far more than could be fed or sheltered or cared for after injuries or drug overdoses. It rained, there was mud, all traffic in and out was gridlocked, and the music continued, night and day. "Woodstock Nation" existed for three days and was absorbed into American myth. As depicted in this film, in roughly chronological order, the elusive memory of that nation is cemented into a pungent social documentary. Few documentaries have captured a time and place more completely--in the full flower of its moment, youth, and hope--than this one. It is also one of the finest musical documentaries ever made--if not the best--utilizing adventurous camera work, daring editing, frame mirroring, freeze frames, blackouts, and multi-angle perspectives widening the 1.33:1 image to 2.20:1 to capture flamboyant, riveting, career-defining performances, within an amazing chronicle of how the musicians interact onstage as audience members react to the musicians' performances.
MPAA Rating: Rated R for drug content, nudity and language.
General Note:
The Woodstock Music and Art Fair, Bethel, NY was presented by Michael Lang, executive producer, John Roberts, Joel Rosenman, and Arthur Kornfeld.

Originally produced as an American motion picture in 1970; director's cut produced in 1994.
Two-disc 40th anniversary ed. ; Director's cut.
Spontaneous combustion -- Too big for the world -- Crosby, Stills & Nash: "Long Time Gone" -- If it works-- -- Canned Heat: "Going Up the Country" -- Crosby, Stills & Nash: "Wooden Ships" -- Invasion of Sullivan County -- Out of the skies -- Acid alert and other announcements -- Richie Havens: "Handsome Johnny" -- Richie Havens: "Freedom" -- Free from now on -- Canned Heat: "A Change Is Gonna Come" -- Joan Baez: "Joe Hill" -- Joan Baez: "Swing Low, Sweet Chariot" -- The Who: "We're Not Gonna Take It" (from Tommy) -- The Who: "Summertime Blues"-- In search of -- In the spirit -- Sha Na Na: "At the Hop" -- Getting high on yoga -- Joe Cocker & the Grease Band: "With a Little Help from My Friends" -- Downpour -- Rain chant -- What it's all about -- Country Joe & The Fish: "Rock and Soul Music" -- Arlo Guthrie: "Coming Into Los Angeles" -- Crosby, Stills & Nash: "Suite: Judy Blue Eyes -- Ten Years After: "I'm Going Home" -- Inter--mission

Jefferson Airplane: "Won't You Try" -- Scenes from a disaster area -- Emotional colors -- Jefferson Airplane: "Uncle Sam's Blues"-- John Sebastian: "Younger Generation" -- Country Joe McDonald: I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-to-Die Rag" -- Coping with the mess -- Bodies beautiful -- Santana: "Soul sacrifice" -- Sly and the Family Stone: "I Want to Take You Higher" -- Janis Joplin: "Work Me, Lord" -- Mess call -- Port-o-San man -- Max Yasgur's benediction -- Jimi Hendrix: "Voodoo Child" -- Jimi Hendrix: "The Star-Spangled Banner" -- Jimi Hendrix: "Purple Haze" -- Picking up and going home -- End credits (Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young: "Woodstock") -- Coda (Crosby, Stills & Nash: "Cost of Freedom")
Physical Description:
2 videodiscs (224 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
Warner Bros. Pictures : Distributed by Warner Home Video,
Publication Date:

Publication Information:
Burbank, CA : Warner Bros. Pictures : Distributed by Warner Home Video, ©2009.
Call Number:
Holds: Copies: